Oregon Explorer
Oregon Explorer provides a web-based natural resources digital library by integrating data from state and federal agencies, local governments, university scientists, and citizens. A collaboration between Oregon State University Libraries and the Institute for Natural Resources, Oregon Explorer helps inform decisions and actions affecting Oregon's natural environment. As a permanent part of OSU Libraries, Oregon Explorer will be continuously maintained and updated. Read more...
GIS Applications
- Google Earth: A 3D Interface to the Planet
This keyword searchable tool allows you to create images and tilt and rotate the view to see 3D terrain and buildings. Identify schools, local business, parks and other landmarks. Software download required. - ArcGIS.com
Visit the site to create maps; find and use maps, applications, and tools; and share your maps and applications with others. - World Health Organization Global Health Atlas
Select from categories such as Communicable Diseases, Human Resources for Health, Noncommunicable Diseases and World Health Statistics. Additional sub-categories may be selected under each heading. Choose geographic area or country. Over 20 years of data for many categories with mapping options. - Oregon Explorer
Oregon Explorer provides a web-based natural resources digital library by integrating data from state and federal agencies, local governments, university scientists, and citizens. - Nationalatlas.gov - Map Maker

More Applications
U.S. and World Data
Click on the stars to rate a link. Use the feedback tab to suggest a link.
- New American Fact Finder - 2000 & 2010 Census Data
The New American FactFinder is your official source for Census 2010 and Census 2000 data. - American FactFinder (Census Bureau)
As we transition to the NEW American FactFinder, you can still find data here for the following: the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, and the Population Estimates Program. (this version will be discontinued fall 2011) - U.S. Census Bureau TIGER/Line®ShapefilesTIGER/Line®Shapefiles are spatial extracts from the Census Bureau's MAF/TIGER database, containing features such as roads, railroads, rivers, as well as legal and statistical geographic areas. They are made available to the public for no charge and are typically used to provide the digital map base for a Geographic Information System or for mapping software.
- ESRI Downloadable Data
Online and downloadable: Includes Census Tiger data converted to ArcView format and USGS NED Shaded Relief Imagery Data. - geodata.gov
U.S. Maps & Data - Geospatial Data Gateway - USDA
The Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data. The Gateway allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data from our catalog, customize the format, and have it downloaded or shipped on CD or DVD. - LANDFIRE.govLANDFIRE, also known as the Landscape Fire and Resource Management Planning Tools Project, is a five-year, multi-partner project producing consistent and comprehensive maps and data describing vegetation, wildland fuel, and fire regimes across the United States. It is a shared project between the wildland fire management programs of the U.S. Department of Agriculture Forest Service and U.S. Department of the Interior.
- UN GEO Data Portal
The GEO Data Portal is the authoritative source for data sets used by United Nations Environment Programme and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. - National Atlas
Map layers, printable maps, dynamic maps, and the National Atlas Map Maker web application. - NOAA Satellite and Information ServicesFind climate and weather; statellite imagery; and national and regional radar images that provides hourly images from 1995 to present.
- Marine Protected Areas of the United States - NOAA
NOAA - The Marine Protected Areas Inventory (MPA Inventory) is a comprehensive geospatial database designed to catalog and classify marine protected areas within US waters. - National Geospatial Program
Themes include Biological Resources Information, Geologic Information, National Mapping Information, Water Resources Information. - U.S. Department of Fish and Wildlife
Includes: Coastal Barrier Resources System;Critical Habitat; USFWS Ecosystem Regions; Landscape Conservation Cooperatives (LCCs); Migratory Bird Conservation;National Wetlands Inventory (NWI); National Wildlife Refuge System (NWRS);Regional Boundaries - U. S. resources listed by state or by nation-wide collections: University of Arkansas Libraries
University of Arkansas Libraries - Geospatial and Attribute Links. A collection of U. S. resources listed by state or by nation-wide collections. - Harvard GeoSpatial Library
A collection of 7,278 worldwide and regional geographic data layers, scanned historic maps and associated descriptive information that can be searched mapped and downloaded for use with your GIS software.
Oregon Data
- Oregon Geospatial Data Clearinghouse
Includes the Oregon Spatial Data Library, digital orthophoto quads, and digital elevation model files - Oregon Department of Transportation GIS data
roads, bridges, railroads, rest areas, and more - Oregon Geospatial Data and Map Links
Directory of interactive mapping, GIS Data, and Travel & Recreation Maps - Oregon Imagery Explorer
High resolution color aerial photography is available of the entire state. The imagery, flown in the summer of 2005, can be viewed or downloaded from Oregon Imagery Explorer. - Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
The subjects include fish, habitat, wildlife, ODFW-specific data, and other/misc. - Coastal Landscape Analysis and Modeling Study
Sponsored cooperatively through OSU's College of Forestry, the US Forest Service's Pacific Northwest Research Station, and the Oregon Department of Forestry. - Downloadable GIS Data from the MAP Library
University of Oregon Libraries - UO campus, Mt Pisgah, FEMA flood data, transportation. - Corvallis Mapping and GIS
City of Corvallis Public Works Department - H.J. Andrews Experimental Forest
The Andrews Forest is situated in the western Cascade Range of Oregon in the 15,800-acre (6400-ha) drainage basin of Lookout Creek, a tributary of Blue River and the McKenzie River. - Tillamook County, Oregon
Tillamook County Geographic Information System (GIS) Team provides services and coordination relating to the storage, retrieval and analysis of geographically reference data.
What is GIS?

A geographic information system (GIS), also known as a geographical information system or geospatial information system, is a system for capturing, storing, analyzing and managing data and associated attributes which are spatially referenced to the Earth. Read about Geospatial Technology at LCC...
Ricci's 1602 World Map

Matteo Ricci's 1602 world map, the oldest surviving map in Chinese to depict the Americas

Portrait of Matteo Ricci, 1610 by Emmanuel Pereira. Jesuit House, Rome.




Loading...
