Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Research Guides
Admin Sign In 

Photography and Photojournalism  Tags: photography photojournalism images  

Resources for photography and photojournalism classes at LCC. Sponsored by LCC photography teachers Susie Morrill, Dick Lennox, and Jenny Salzman.
Last update: Apr 11th, 2009 URL: http://lanecc.libguides.com/photography  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ARTstor             Print Page
  

Where to go...

 

About ARTstor

The ARTstor Digital Library includes more than 80 collections with more than 700,000 images. These collections have been added to the library because the images have noted teaching or research value, or because the community has asked for a particular body of content. ARTstor works with a range of individual photographers, scholars, artists and artists’ estates, museums, library special collections, and photo archives.

 ARTstor is a non-profit organization which operates the ARTstor Digital Library, a collection of digital images of artwork available for non-commercial and educational use. Participating institutions pay a subscription fee to ARTstor in exchange for access, which is provided via a Web interface.

ARTstor is a creation of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

ARTstor was set up as a sister organisation to JSTOR to do the same job, using a similar subscription model; it began to function in 2004. It gained considerable impetus after the disbanding in 2005 of Art Museum Image Consortium (AMICO) — an online system for images of artworks, set up by a Getty Foundation-led consortium of institutions. It has gained the use of many existing image databases, and has digitised for the first time The Illustrated Bartsch, the largest catalogue for old master prints. It has reached a total of 700,000 images in 2007. With two exceptions in London, listed subscribers are all in the USA and Canada.

A rich digital library of art images and descriptive information, as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. Content includes images from the fields of art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's software tools support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

 

Using ARTstor

ARTstor is a subscription database which is available only to LCC students, faculty and staff.  The images can generally be used for teaching and schoolwork, but NOT for publishing (print or web).

ARTstor can be a little complicated for casual users.  However, it is a valuable resource even when used at its basic, simplest level.  For example, anyone in the College system can simply search and download images, rather than try to use the more complex folders.  Images can then be emailed to the user, or preferably downloaded to a flash/thumb drive, which is what I recommend.

ARTstor images are quite large - 95% are now available for download at 1024 pixels on the long side.

 

Introduction

Using ARTstor
 
 
 

  General Information
  Register
  Getting Started
  Search for Images
  View Images and Data
  Off-Campus
  Help
     
     
     
  ARTstor

What is ARTstor?
The ARTstor Library's initial content includes approximately 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's software tools support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. Read more..

Getting Started

Before using ARTstor:

  1. Check system requirements
    • Most newer computer systems are supported
  2. Pop-up blocking software must be disabled or set to allow pop-ups for this site. (How do I disable pop-up blockers?)
    • Using a computer in the Library? Use the Firefox browser. It does not have pop-up blockers.
  3. Cookies must also be enabled. (How do I enable cookies?)
  4. Flash Player 6 or above is required (How do I install Flash Player?)
  5. Sun Java version 1.3 or above is required (What version of Java do I have?)

Register

Why Register?

  1. To use the alternative way of using ARTstor off-campus for patrons who experience difficulty using the regular method. Read more..
  2. Save image groups
  3. Add personal notes to images
  4. To download ARTstor's Offline Viewer. With Offline Viewer you can give presentation. Read more..

How to Register

  1. Begin by clicking the launch button launch to launch the welcome page:
    welcome page
  2. From the welcome page, click the register button. All you need is an email address.
    register

Search for Images

  1. Click on the link to “Search and browse for images.” launch to launch the welcome page:
    welcome page
  2. From the welcome page, Search by Keyword, View an Image Group, or Select a Collection:
    search

View Images and Data

  1. Search results will appear in a thumbnail page:
    thumbnail page
  2. To view the data for an image, click on the caption beneath the thumbnail.

    thumbnail

    image information

    To view an image, double-click on the thumbnail image itself.
    thumbnail

    image
  3. Use the navigation buttons at the bottom to zoom, rotate, print and save
    navigation
  4. Once you download a copy of an ARTstor image and save it locally, you can import that JPEG into a Word document or a PowerPoint presentation just like any other image file.

Connecting to ARTstor Off-Campus

Connect to ARTstor
If you are off-campus you will be prompted to enter your last name and "L" number. If you are unable to connect using this link:

Alternative way of using ARTstor off-campus.

  1. Register on-campus
  2. Click on the link to “Search and browse for images” launch to launch the welcome page:
    welcome page
  3. From the welcome page, click the register button. All you need is an email address.
    register
  4. Each time you log onto your ARTstor account, you are given a 120-day Remote Access Grace Period during which time you may access ARTstor from anywhere in the world. Go to http://www.artstor.org and click on the link to “Search and browse for images.” When you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter the email address and password that you used to register your ARTstor account. As long as you’ve logged onto your account within the last 120 days, you will be able to go directly into the Digital Library. If you get a message that your 120-day Remote Access Grace Period has expired, you can reset it by logging onto your account on-campus.

Help

Problems connecting off-campus?
    Try the alternate way of connecting to ARTstor
    Let us know by filling out a Remote Access Problem Form

ARTstor's
     Online help
     Frequently Asked Questions

Training Guides
    Staff and Faculty Quick Start Guide (pdf) (also available in Word) - revised 10/19/07
    ARTstor Training Part I: Introduction (pdf)
    ARTstor Training Part II: Registered Users and Remote Access (pdf)
    ARTstor Training Part III: Instuctor Features (pdf)
    ARTstor Training: The Offline Image Viewer (pdf)    

For further assistance call us at 463-5273 during Library hours or email us anytime.

 
>> Return to Lane's Home Page         >> Return to top of page
Lane Community College Library
4000 E 30th Ave., Eugene OR 97405
2nd floor, Center Bldg - (541) 463-5220
Please direct comments about this site to library@lanecc.edu
Revised 12/31/08 (ljg)
© 1996-present Lane Community College
Description

  Loading content... please wait