Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Research Guides
Admin Sign In 

Using Spatial Data for GIS  Tags: geographic_information_systems geography maps gis mapping  

Materials and resources on Geographic Information Systems. Sponsored by the Lane GIS program (GIS 245, 246, 247 and 248), under a grant from the National Science Foundation to develop coursework in GIS curricula (NSF# 0603492).
Last update: Apr 11th, 2009 URL: http://lanecc.libguides.com/gis  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 
 

Websites

Wikipedia article on GIS

ESRI International User Conference

 
GISTalk
While this forum is hosted by a software vendor, the discussion is a free on-line forum which covers all aspects of geographic and geospatial information systems and includes all types of GIS software support from professionals and practitioners.

Spatial News

News, educational resources, data pointers, and commentaries to thousands of GIS, CAD, GPS, map (and digital mapping), and location-based services (LBS). The audience is industry professionals and students. Links to gislist. Email the following address to subscribe: gislist-subscribe@geocomm.com

USGS What is GIS?
USGS web site providing definitions, descriptions of how GIS works and how it is used.

Additional GIS Definitions from the Census Department

U.S. Census site with some definitions and frequently asked questions about GIS and it's uses.

Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Sensing

Dictionary from U.C. Berkley which decodes abbreviations and acronyms found in various publications including maps and websites.

AGI GIS Dictionary
Dictionary of GIS terms from the Association of Geographic Information, a multidisciplinary organization dedicated to the advancement of the use of geographically related information.

Geography Network
New, U.S. and World maps and data to download.

Yahoo GIS
Yahoo directory of GIS conferences, companies, institutes and web sites.
Nice Geography and GIS Sites
Collection of geography and GIS web sites including commercial, academic and government sites.
Oddens's Bookmarks
 Over 19,000 links to cartographic information, both maps and mapping links.
Edinburgh Geographical Information Systems (GIS)
Good links to basic information about GIS, case studies, key links.
 
>> Return to Lane's Home Page         >> Return to top of page
Lane Community College Library
4000 E 30th Ave., Eugene OR 97405
2nd floor, Center Bldg - (541) 463-5220
Please direct comments about this site to library@lanecc.edu
Revised 12/31/08 (ljg)
© 1996-present Lane Community College
Description

  Loading content... please wait