Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Research Guides
Admin Sign In 

Computer Survival Guide  Tags: cit computer_science  

Find news, books, articles, and career resources. The Computer Survival Guide is sponsored by Patty Hine.
Last update: Jan 08th, 2009 URL: http://lanecc.libguides.com/computersurvival  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Quick Picks

 

Magazines in the Library

Mac/Life
Author:
Publisher: South San Francisco, CA : Future US, 2007-

Windows IT Pro
Author:
Publisher: Loveland, CO : Penton Media, c2004-

Computer power user : CPU
Author:
Publisher: Lincoln, NE : Sandhills Pub. Co., c2001-

Smart computing in plain English
Author:
Publisher: Lincoln, NE : Sandhills Pub., c1997-

Computers in libraries
Author:
Publisher: Westport, CT : Meckler, c1988-

PC magazine : the independent guide to IBM-standard personal computing
Author:
Publisher: [New York, N.Y. : PC Communications Corp., 1986-

Macworld : the Macintosh magazine
Author:
Publisher: San Francisco, CA : PC World Communications, 1984-

PC world
Author:
Publisher: San Francisco, Calif. : PC World Communications, [c1983-


Looking for a particular magazine or journal?
Look it up in the
Magazine Journal Locator 
to see if the Library subscribes to it online or in print!

 

 
 

What is a Database?

In simple terms, a database is a collection of information that is organized so that it can easily be accessed, managed, and updated. The Lane Library offers access to subscription databases. They are called subscription databases because the Library subscribes, or pays money, in order to get access to them. Many of the databases are full-text, meaning that you can access the full article directly off your screen which allows you to work from home if you like.

Each subscription database is different from the others. When you are searching for a journal, magazine, or newspaper article on a given topic, spend some time choosing which database to search. It can make a big difference in the results you will get.

Off campus?  No problem.  Just enter your last name and L number when prompted.

View all databases >>

 

Database: Computer Source

Computer Source:The latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Choose a topic:


Search for more articles using Computer Source
 >>

 

 

Subject Guide

 
>> Return to Lane's Home Page         >> Return to top of page
Lane Community College Library
4000 E 30th Ave., Eugene OR 97405
2nd floor, Center Bldg - (541) 463-5220
Please direct comments about this site to library@lanecc.edu
Revised 12/31/08 (ljg)
© 1996-present Lane Community College
Description

  Loading content... please wait