Finding Books at Lane
Choose a subject area
Summit Borrowing
Can't find what you are looking for at Lane?
Did you know that credit students have access to over 27 million books, sound recordings, videos, and more through Summit? It's a group of over 33 college libraries in the Pacific Northwest. Items are delivered to LCC in 3 to 5 working days. Read more about Borrowing from other Libraries...
Quick Picks
Books in the Library
|
Windows server 2008 inside out At nearly 1500 pages, this guide to Window Server 2008 is designed to be a complete reference for the planning and managing of this application, and offers plenty of troubleshooting tips, scripts and time-saving solutions for IT professionals and network administrators. Stanek, a Microsoft MVP, provides all of the instructions for installations and upgrades, and offers detailed explanations on configuring all of the security features, settings and critical updates. A CD-ROM is included that contains a fully searchable eBook, links to further resources and online tools, 700 sample scripts and sample chapters from other Microsoft guides. Annotation ©2009 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) |
|
|
Windows server 2008 Active Directory resource kit Designed for IT professionals and administrators, this guide provides step-by-step instructions for planning and implementing the Active Directory features and to integrate this application with DNS. A CD-ROM is included that contains 17 Windows PowerShell scripts, links to technical references and other resources, and a full complement of worksheets, templates and other job aids. Annotation ©2009 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) |
|
|
MCTS self-paced training kit (exam 70-643) : configuring Windows server 2008 applications infrastructure
|
|
|
MCTS 70-642 exam cram : Windows server 2008 network infrastructure, configuring / Patrick Regan This book/CD-ROM package will help readers prepare for the Microsoft 70-642 certification exam, TS: Windows Server 2008 Network Infrastructure, Configuring. Each chapter follows a similar structure, with opening lists of terms and tools, coverage of topics and concepts likely to appear on the exam, exam prep questions, and exam alerts, tips, and notes. Each chapter ends with a section listing Microsoft and third-party resources that offer more details on the chapter's subject. The CD-ROM contains practice questions in multiple test modes covering each 70-642 Exam objective, with explained correct and incorrect answers. Regan is a PC technician and network administrator. Annotation ©2009 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) |
|
|
Principles of information systems security : text and cases / Gurpreet Dhillon The real threat to information system security comes from people, not computers. That's why students need to understand both the technical implementation of security controls, as well as the softer human behavioral and managerial factors that contribute to the theft and sabotage proprietary data. More.. |
|
|
Wireless home networking simplified / Jim Doherty, Neil Anderson ; illustrations by Nathan Clement Doherty (vice president of marketing at CipherOptics) and Anderson (senior manager of enterprise systems engineering with Cisco) give illustrated guidance to neophytes on setting up, running, and troubleshooting wireless home computer networks. They describe how wireless LANs work, issues of network planning and equipment selection, router and security set up, troubleshooting, and some of the benefits of wireless networking. Annotation ©2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) |
|
|
Anti-hacker tool kit / Mike Shema ... [et al.] Stop hackers in their tracks Organized by category, Anti-Hacker Tool Kit, Third Edition provides complete details on the latest and most critical security tools, explains their function, and demonstrates how to configure them to get the best results. Completely revised to include the latest security tools, including wireless tools New tips on how to configure the recent tools on Linux, Windows, and Mac OSX New on the CD-ROM -- Gnoppix, a complete Linux system, ClamAV anti-virus, Cain, a multi-function hacking tool, Bluetooth tools, protocol scanners, forensic tools, and more New case studies in each chapter |
|
|
Active Directory / Joe Richards, Robbie Allen, and Alistair G. Lowe-Norris This guide shows how to map an organization?s business requirements into the active directory infrastructure, and explains active directory management through scripts based on active directory service interfaces (ADSI), ActiveX data objects (ADO), and Windows management instrumentation (WMI). The third edition reflects Windows Server 2003 R2 changes, and adds chapters on active directory application mode and basic Exchange tasks. Annotation ©2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) |
|
|
Wireless home networking for dummies / by Danny Briere, Pat Hurley, and Edward Ferris Get hooked up without getting tangled up in cords, wires, cablesor techno mumbo. WithWireless Home Networking For Dummies, you can go wireless without going mad. It shows you how to plan, install, secure, and use a wireless home network for PCs or Macs. See how easy it is to share your Internet connection, files, folders, printers, and other peripherals. Put your gaming console on your wireless network and play multiuser computer games--even online. With lots of helpful diagrams, screen shots, and step-by-step instructions, this guide: Gives you the info you need to make wise wireless buying and connecting decisions Covers the latest security issues and hardware as well as today's wireless standards, including Wi-Fi/802.11 (a, b, g, e, and i), Bluetooth, UWB (Universal Wide Band), WiMAX, and ZigBee. More.. |
|
|
How networks work / Frank J. Derfler, Jr. and Les Freed ; illustrated by Michael Troller This Seventh Edition includes new and expanded coverage of how networks contribute to business continuity and to home entertainment. From relying on networking services to the intricacies of the Internet, you'll love discovering How Networks Work. Book jacket. |
|
|
Home networking : the missing manual / Scott Lowe Most aspiring home networkers get lost in a confusing maze of terms and technologies: that's where Home Networking: The Missing Manual comes in. Using clear language, straightforward explanations, and a dash of humour, this book shows you how to do everything you need to set up a home network. The real fun starts once your network is up and running. You'll learn how to stream music from your PCs to your stereo, how to display pictures on your TV, how to hook up game consoles to your network, and more! This book covers most known operating system flavours, including Windows XP, 2000, Me, and 98, and Mac OS X and OS 9. |
|
|
802.11 wireless networks : the definitive guide / Matthew S. Gast Intended for experienced network architects and administrators, this guide describes the architecture of 802.11 wireless LANs, the media access control (MAC) layer, the Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP) protocol, management operations, the physical layers, and driver installation on Windows, Mac, and Linux. The second edition adds chapters on 802.11g and 802.11n. Annotation ©2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) |
|
|
Hacking exposed : network security secrets & solutions / Stuart McClure, Joel Scambray, George Kurtz "The seminal book on white-hat hacking and countermeasures... Should be required reading for anyone with a server or a network to secure." --Bill Machrone, PC Magazine "The definitive compendium of intruder practices and tools." --Steve Steinke, Network Magazine "For almost any computer book, you can find a clone. But not this one... A one-of-a-kind study of the art of breaking in." --UNIX Review Here is the latest edition of international best-seller, Hacking Exposed. Using real-world case studies, renowned security experts Stuart McClure, Joel Scambray, and George Kurtz show IT professionals how to protect computers and networks against the most recent security vulnerabilities. You'll find detailed examples of the latest devious break-ins and will learn how to think like a hacker in order to thwart attacks. Coverage includes: Code hacking methods and countermeasures New exploits for Windows 2003 Server, UNIX/Linux, Cisco, Apache, and Web and wireless applications Latest DDoS techniques--zombies, Blaster, MyDoom All new class of vulnerabilities--HTTP Response Splitting and much more |
|
|
Open source security tools : practical applications for security / Tony Howlett Sorts through the mass of open source security tools, chooses a few of the best, and shows network and system admins how to use them. |
|
|
Network+ study guide / David Groth ... [et al.] If you're serious about getting your Network+ certification and advancing your career in the field of networking, this is the book you need. Revised for the new version of the Network+ exam, N10-003, this Deluxe Edition of the best-selling Network+ Study Guide was developed to meet the exacting requirements of today's IT certification candidates. In addition to the engaging and accessible instructional style that has made author David Groth a reader favorite for years, this updated edition provides: In-depth coverage of every Network+ exam objective. Practical instruction and insights drawn from real-world experience. Leading-edge exam preparation software, including the Network+ Virtual Lab, as well as Sybex's custom test engine, electronic flashcards, and the entire book in PDF. In addition, you'll find authoritative coverage of all exam objectives, including: Media and Topologies Protocols and Standards Network Implementation Network Support |
|
|
Ethernet networks : design, implementation, operation, management / Gilbert Held Ethernet Networks, Fourth Edition, provides everything you need to know to plan, implement, manage and upgrade Ethernet networks. Improve your skills in employing Ethernet hubs, switches, and routers. Learn how to set up and operate a wireless Local Area Network (LAN). Discover how to extend a wired Ethernet via wireless LANs. Understand cabling standards and the role of NEXT (Near End Crosstalk), FEXT (Far End Crosstalk) and other transmission parameters. Profit from Gilbert Held's tips and tricks on enhancing security ... and much more. This indispensable resource features up-to-date coverage of: Wireless Ethernet (IEEE802.11 standards) 10Gbps Ethernet Firewalls in both a wired and wireless environment The operation of new versions of Windows? on Ethernet LANs The use of LAN switches at and above layer 2 in the ISO reference model Copper and fiber optic cable to transport high speed Ethernet Network planners, administrators, and system engineers working with Ethernet networks will find Ethernet Networks, Fourth Edition, an invaluable tool for implementing, updating, and managing their networks. |
|
|
Home networking simplified : an illustrated home networking handbook for the everyday user / Jim Doherty, Neil Anderson ; illustrations by Nathan Clement A marketing director formerly with Cisco and a systems engineer currently with Cisco explain to readers with no technical background how to do keen stuff like share files between computers, share an Internet connection with multiple users, create a wireless network, make the Internet safe for kids, set their computer up to work in Internet cafes and other places, and set up an online gaming system. Annotation ©2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) |
|
|
Assessing network security / Kevin Lam, David LeBlanc, Ben Smith Written by members of the Microsoft security team, this book presents network testing strategies, including vulnerability scanning and penetration testing. It provides guidance on how to perform security assessments, uncover vulnerabilities, and apply appropriate countermeasures. A companion CD contains the text of the book, plus tools and scripts for securing email, databases, and web servers. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) |
|
|
Network security hacks / Andrew Lockhart This collection of 100 hacks describes methods for reducing the risks involved in offering services on a Unix-based system, tightening down a Windows system, preventing server attacks using the network itself, balancing the need for information with the need brevity by processing and protecting system logs, monitoring a network and services over time, and implementing VPN technologies and the NIDS Snort tool. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) |
|
|
Computer networking first-step / Wendell Odom This book explains the basics of computer networking in refreshingly simple language, taking readers on a tour of the core technologies that make up network and Internet traffic. Chapter summaries, review questions and answers, and a glossary are included. The book is ideal for those new to networking, IT professionals who want to know more about networking, people who need to talk to people who build networks, and people who need background before starting courses related to entry-level networking certification. Odom teaches introductory and advanced computer networking courses. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) |
|
|
Web-based management of IP networks and systems / Jean-Philippe Martin-Flatin This work provides an in-depth analysis of the technical advantages of using Web technologies, notably XML, in network and systems management. It describes a new management architecture, the Web-Based Integrated Management Architecture (WIMA), highlights problems associated with SNMP, looks at engineering tradeoffs, and describes a research prototype to demonstrate the feasibility of WIMA. The book is aimed at engineers designing and writing management applications, administrators, and graduate students. The readers is assumed to know basics of network management and object oriented analysis and design. Martin-Flatin is a technical manager in the private sector. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) |
|
Subject Guide |
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait