Rate this guide
Careers
Constructing a bibliography
-
We have detailed instructions on how to construct a bibliography according to the MLA format. For further information, go to:
www.lanecc.edu/library/instruction/mla.htm
Finding websites
Oregon Career Information System (CIS)http://oregoncis.uoregon.edu/
User name & password required
Oregon CIS provides a comprehensive and state-based resource to help Oregonians of all ages become aware of work and educational options, connect education and work, and make successful career decisions and transitions throughout their lifetime. Thru Oregon CIS you can:
- explore careers
- explore programs and majors
- explore schools
Occupational outlook handbook / U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics Reference HF5382 .U53 2004-05http://stats.bls.gov/oco/
-
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a
nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide
valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future
work lives. Revised every two years, the Handbook describes what
workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education
needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of
occupations.
Other websites
-
These resources from the Internet are a good way of tracking down current jobs, and in many ways have replaced the traditional technique of looking through the job listings in the newspaper. You can search locally, or expand your search to areas outside Eugene and Oregon. There are also some good online guides to resume and cover letter preparation.
Oregon Department of Employment
Register Guard Employment Classified Section
Oregonian Career Search
New York Times Employment Classified Section
Eugene/Springfield Area Employment Opportunities
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Career Magazine
The Riley Guide: Employment and Job Resources on the Internet
Yahoo!: Careers
Job Bank USA
Jobs Online
Job Star: California Job Search Guide
Resume Tutor
Home Fair City Reports: comparison of two cities' cost of living, climate, demographics
Country Profiles: Tips on social and business customs in 26 major countries
America's Career Infonet: Informed Career Decisions
Wall Street Journal: Europe (job openings abroad)
Finding articles
LCC Library Research DatabasesRemember that these articles are full-text, which means you can read the entire article, download it, print it, or email the whole article to yourself.
Finding books
There are many books on career and job opportunities in the Library. To browse these books, begin at the call number HF 5381. You will find Reference books on the main floor, and books for borrowing on the upper floor of the Library.
Start off with a keyword search to find appropriate subject headings.
To look for your specific career, try using different combinations of your desired occupation with some of the subject headings below.
- Medical personnel -- Vocational guidance
- Resumes (Employment)
- Job Application
- Health Occupations
- Health Personnel
- Vocational Guidance
- Occupations
- Career Choice
- Career development
- Employment Forecasting
Here are a selection of excellent reference books on jobs and careers:
25 jobs that have it all
Gallery of best cover letters : a collection of quality cover letters by professional resume writers
Resumes in cyberspace : your complete guide to a computerized job search
Dynamite cover letters and other great job search letters
The Almanac of American employers
Kiss, bow, or shake hands : how to do business in sixty countries
The top 100. The fastest growing careers for the 21st century
Oregon business directory
Job hunter's sourcebook
Peterson's job opportunities. Business
Peterson's job opportunities. Health and science
Summer jobs in the USA
International job finder : where the jobs are worldwide
Subject Guide |
Don MacnaughtanSend Email
Subjects:
american_indians, anthropology, art, ethnic_studies, geography, gis, graphic_design, history, international_studies, mass_media, multimedia_design, photography, popular_culture
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait