Chief with copper
A Tlngit chief with his valued copper
Comments (0)
Salmon people
American Indians from the Northwest Coast
- American Indian languages of Western Oregon
- Chetco-Tututni bibliography
- Coppers: artifacts from the Northwest Coast
- Siuslaw and Kuitsh Indians bibliography
Finding Books, Articles, and Websites
Basic Reference Books
- The handbook of North American Indians published by the Smithsonian Institution.
- Call number: Reference E77 .H25 v. 7. covers Northwest Coast, v. 8. California, and v. 11. the Great Basin.
- The Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes edited by Sharon Malinowski.
- Call number:Reference E77 .G15 1998 v. 4. covers California and the Pacific Northwest.
- Native America in the twentieth century : an encyclopedia edited by Mary B. Davis.
- Call number: Reference E76.2 .N36 1994
- Archaeology of prehistoric native America : an encyclopedia edited by Guy Gibbon.
- Call number: Reference E77.9 .A72 1998
- Native American ethnobotany by Daniel E. Moerman.
- Call number: Reference E98.B7 M66 1998
- Encyclopedia of American Indian costume by Josephine Paterek.
- Call number: Reference E98.C8 P37 1994
- Encyclopedia of Native American shamanism : sacred ceremonies of North America by William S. Lyon.
- Call number: Reference E98.M4 L98 1998
- A guide to the Indian tribes of the Pacific Northwest by Robert H. Ruby and John A. Brown.
- Call number: Reference E78.N77 R79 1992
Folklore, Religion and Culture
- Surviving through the days : translations of Native California stories and songs : a California Indian reader edited by Herbert W. Luthin.
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.C15 .S94 2002
- Nehalem Tillamook tales told by Clara Pearson.
- Call number: Upper Floor E99.N45 P4 1990
- The forgotten tribes : oral tales of the Teninos and adjacent Mid-Columbia River Indian nations by Donald M. Hines.
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.C64 H56 1991
- Badger and Coyote were neighbors : Melville Jacobs on Northwest Indian myths and tales edited by William R. Seaburg and Pamela T. Amoss.
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.O6 B33 2000
- Flutes of fire : essays on California Indian languages by Leanne Hinton.
- Call number: Upper Floor PM501.C2 H56 1996
- Coyote was going there : Indian literature of the Oregon country compiled and edited by Jarold Ramsey.
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.O6 C68 1980
- First fish, first people : salmon tales of the North Pacific rim edited by Judith Roche and Meg McHutchison.
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.N78 F47 1998
Art and Archaeology
- Native visions : evolution in northwest coast art from the eighteenth through the twentieth century by Steven C. Brown.
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.N78 B76 1998
- Stone, bone, antler & shell : artifacts of the Northwest coast written and illustrated by Hilary Stewart.
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.N78 S765 1996
- Understanding Northwest coast art : a guide to crests, beings, and symbols by Cheryl Shearar.
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.N78 S446 2000
- Down from the shimmering sky : masks of the Northwest Coast by Peter Macnair.
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.N78 M32 1998
- Columbia River basketry : gift of the ancestors, gift of the earth by Mary Dodds Schlick.
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.C64 S35 1994
- Tradition & change on the Northwest Coast : the Makah, Nuu-chah-nulth, southern Kwakiutl, and Nuxalk by Ruth Kirk.
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.N78 K57 1986
- Changing landscapes : proceedings of the Coquille Cultural Preservation Conferences, 1999 and 2000
- Call number:Upper Floor E78.O6 C66 2000
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.O6 C69 2001
- Peoples of the northwest coast : their archaeology and prehistory by Kenneth M. Ames.
- Call number: Upper Floor E78.N78 A47 1999
History
The first Oregonians
Call number: Upper Floor E78.O6 F5 1991
The Indians of western Oregon : this land was theirs by Stephen Dow Beckham.
Call number: Upper Floor E78.O6 B38
Living with the land: the Indians of southwest Oregon.
Call number: Upper Floor E78.O6 S95 1990
Indians, fire, and the land in the Pacific Northwest edited by Robert Boyd.
Call number: Upper Floor E78.N77 I53 1999
Uncertain encounters : Indians and whites at peace and war in southern Oregon, 1820s-1860s by Nathan Douthit.
Call number: Upper Floor E78.O6 D68 2002
The Chinook Indians : traders of the Lower Columbia River by Robert H. Ruby and John A. Brown.
Call number: Upper Floor E99.C57 R82
Naked against the rain : the people of the lower Columbia River, 1770-1830 by Rick Rubin.
Call number: Upper Floor E99.C57 R83 1999
The Rogue River Indian War and its aftermath, 1850-1980 by E.A. Schwartz.
Call number: Upper Floor E83.84 .S39 1997
Oregon Indians : culture, history and current affairs, an atlas and introduction.
Call number: Upper Floor E78.O6 Z8 1983
Requiem for a people: the Rogue Indians and the frontiersmen by Stephen Dow Beckham.
Call number: Upper Floor E78.O6 B4
Arrow chain video: reclaiming our heritage by the Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians.
Call number: Audiovisual MV 4224
Subject Guide |


Loading...
